Tymon Radzik nominated for the International Children’s Peace Prize

16-year-old Tymon Radzik was chosen as one of three children nominated for this year's International Children's Peace Prize, also known as the Children's Nobel Prize.

The young social activist has spent a long time helping secure the right to public information for children. For several months, he has served as an adviser to the Minister of Digitalisation Anna Streżyńska.

According to Tymon, too many decisions about children are taken by adults and children are not heard. Tymon successfully campaigned to make it easier for children to participate in legal processes and access information, especially when it concerns their own lives. Thanks to his important work, Polish minors can now attend legal proceedings and represent themselves in court.

Speaking on behalf of the KidsRights Foundation, Desmond Tutu announced today three finalists for the International Children's Peace Prize 2017. The award is bestowed annually to a child who bravely fights for the rights of children. Every year the message of the young winner reaches millions of people around the world. Out of 169 submissions from 55 countries, the Committee of Experts chose Tymon Radzik from Poland, Mohamad Al Jounde from Syria and Faya Hasian from Indonesia. Tymon was nominated by Marek Michalak, Ombudsman for Children, who had previously supported the junior high school student in his efforts to ensure the presence of children in public debate. The remaining finalists were nominated for active participation in efforts for children-refugees and education (Mohamad) and involvement in the fight against child trafficking (Faya).

This year's award will be presented in The Hague by Malala Yousafzai, winner of the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize. Earlier, in 2013, Malala herself was awarded the International Children's Peace Prize.

The ceremony in December will be attended by many honorary guests, including His Highness Prince Ali bin al-Hussein of Jordan, who will give the inauguratation speech.

Source: Ministry of Digitalisation